Stalled out

What we call the beginning is often the end
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
The end is where we start from.

Here I am. Home.

I met a very wise woman in Jerusalem, and she advised me to be gentle with myself when I went back to the States. The transition would be harder than I expected.

How right she was.

Some parts of coming home, after six months abroad, have been absolutely fabulous. For one, everything tastes 20x better than normal because I haven’t had any “normal” food for half a year. Everyone went out of their way to welcome me home. Joey and Dill were due back at Notre Dame (they are working ND Vision this summer) but they delayed their trip back as long as possible in order to see me for a few hours. Matt threw me a welcome home/ 4th of July party and I got to see several dear friends from high school days. My family whipped up their own welcome home gala the next day, with Mass at our church, my favorite BBQ for lunch, an afternoon viewing of the new Star Trek movie (finally) and a trip to Starbucks to top it all off. All of the creature comforts have been fabulous- my bed with my mattress and my pillow; my bathroom with my fabulous shower; my car with my music blaring. It’s all very comfortable, very familiar, very safe.

But familiarity is deceptive. A lot happens in six months. I’m a different person: more independent, realistic, open, and aware. I need more reassurance, too; I am tired of upheaval and would appreciate some stability for a while. I scattered pieces of my heart around the world, with different people and places, and now that I am home, I feel their absence keenly. By my count, I have at least five homes all tugging on my heart. I am just beginning to get acquainted with this new me, and understand the implications of how I have changed.

Meanwhile, everyone else changed too. Just because I peaced out for six months doesn’t mean that everyone idled around, waiting for me to show back up. I missed countless moments when my loved ones were in pain; I feel a great debt for all of the times I was needed and wasn’t there. Everyone grew, too- they changed, themselves, and now I am faced with the mammoth duty of getting to know my loved ones again, and hoping that we can make up for lost time.

It’s very disorienting, to be surrounded by the familiar that is no longer the same.

Furthermore, everyone wants to know “how it was.” I feel entirely inadequate to answer that question. I couldn’t even blog most of the time because I couldn’t capture my experiences and do them, or the people I had met, any justice. I have been empowered to tell the stories of the lands and people I have seen and met, but like Moses, I am afraid that I am a miserable mouthpiece. This free time before school starts back was supposed to be spent reflecting, digesting, and remembering. Instead, I avoid sorting through photos, writing, or even unpacking. My room is postively snowed under. I have mostly spent my first week home avoiding everything. I read novels, play mindless games, and watch episodes of Firefly with my family. I check Gmail and Google Reader ~60 times a day. I have checked out books from the library that I need to read, but I haven’t opened a single one.

Hiding might feel the safest, but I know deep down that it’s no way to live. Focusing just on my self is bound to lead to disaster. It might be messy, but it’s time to (gently) get reacquainted with normality. Wish me luck.

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
T.S. Eliot

8 Comments

Filed under home

8 responses to “Stalled out

  1. I love this post, and you.

    The flower up at the top speaks volumes. Welcome home.

  2. Silver Wolf

    Hey Squiggledot,
    Sorry, that is the name I know you best as. I enjoyed your newest post here at the Bronzed Shoe. You have a gift it would seem with your writting. I would also have to say that it sounds like through your recent travels you have now acquired many many new “Pairs of Bronzed Shoes” for your future. I am sure that in time they too will become as comfortable to wear as you travel down the various paths that you will take in the journey that is your life. As comfortable as the ones that you already have. Best wishes…

    Silver Wolf

  3. Hi…I popped over from Annies…I really loved reading this post. I’ve been living in the UK for the past 6 years (American) and we relocated back to the US this summer. It is a real process of adjusting. Someone recently shared with me a book…The Art of Coming Home by Craig Storti…an interesting read and it definitely echos much of what I’m feeling. I’ve written here and there on my blog about the move, mostly from that side of the pond, before I actually arrived back ‘home’….I’m working on a post now about the reality of the transition. The problem is these feelings are very difficult to express in a way that makes sense to people who have never had this type of ‘adventure’

    I’m sure you’ve had an amazing experience….my daughters are in university now but were 13 and 15 when we moved to the UK. They loved it too and they have a real appreciation for both worlds…for lots of things actually.

    Best of luck with your future plans…Joyce

    • bronzedshoe

      Wow, Joyce, what a journey you’ve had! Thanks for the book recommendation- I will definitely add it to my wish list.

  4. hi laura!
    i also came from annie’s. i’m her little sister. i have lived abroad a few times and i’ve never read such an eloquent description of what it feels like to come “home”. i loved this post. i’m glad annie found it. thanks for writing so honestly.

    i hope you’ve been able to sort a few things out in the past 3 months. it took me around 6 months one time to fully adjust. and still, as you mentioned, nothing is ever the same as it was before–not you, your friends/family, or your perspective. i pray that you’ve been able to hold on to the things you’ve learned and somehow intertwine the new you with your ND life.

    i’m going to have to stalk your blog a little bit now.

    many blessings!!

    • bronzedshoe

      Aww, thanks Tatum! I appreciate your wisdom. The earth is gradually settling, but as you say, nothing will ever be “normal.” Maybe that’s a good thing!

  5. willing2riskready2go

    I linked from Annie’s blog and really empathize with you. We moved back from 4 years in Central Asia and the past year of adjustment back to American culture was the harder by far than any of the years in Central Asia! Great blog!

Leave a comment