Drat.

and you thought you had computer problems

Image by mandyxclear via Flickr

First I went a week without posting. I just started a new job, you know, and I was busy. And sleepy. My body forgot that normal people are awake for 18 hours a day. Ridiculous, I say.

Then, my computer died. For real, the macbook that carried me all through college is deceased. With no ceremony, and no chance to retrieve my files. The technical explanation is that the logic board failed, but to say that it died captures the event more accurately.

So now we are something like a week and a half behind. I have plenty of pictures on my iphone ready to post, but there are some still hibernating on my computer’s powerless hard drive.

In short, updates won’t happen until 1) I lug my dead computer over to some data retrieval place and cough up an indecent amount of (my parents’) money to get my stuff back, and 2) I get a new laptop from which to post.  It could be a while.

Meantime, think on this quote, a favorite of mine that was posted by Annie Parsons earlier today:

“It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.”

-Sam to Mr. Frodo

4 Comments

Filed under home

4 responses to “Drat.

  1. Meg

    It’s funny, I was just thinking about you, and I was about to go to Facebook to write on your wall, but I decided to come here, and what do you know – a new post!!

    I’m sorry about your laptop. That really sucks. How’s the job going, though?

  2. Tia

    Laura-girl. How is it that college is past tense? I mean, I *know* how, I was reading along. But somehow reading it blew me away how much the last 4 years has changed. Best wishes to you on your new adventures.

    • You’re the sweetest. Thanks for making me smile. Life is crazy weird lovely strange. I keep waiting for things to settle down into some sort of normal. And I really wish I was better at being outgoing and befriending strangers. Live and learn. Thanks for sticking with me.

Leave a comment