This is the truth

Joey is off on his grad student adventure, and it scares me. I crave security. And this, friends? This is the opposite of security.

I am simultaneously trapped by and choosing to hide in my house. Neither situation is good.

It’s quite possible that I have never been more unproductive in my life.

I am home, but everything is unfamiliar.

However. This I know:

My family loves me, whether they understand me or not. It helps.

Joey knows the fragile place I’m at and is doing his best to buoy me up from afar. It helps.

I am taken care of and soon this transition will just be an uncomfortable memory. Maybe not this week, maybe not next week, but certainly by the end of the summer, my situation will change for the better. I am worth employing and I am worth befriending. Atlanta will not be strange for long.

Hope and courage are not my strong suit; perseverance (also known as stubbornness) is. I will force myself forward, despite those who question the wisdom of my choices. It’s in my nature.

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” Christopher Robin knew what he was talking about.

3 Comments

Filed under home

3 responses to “This is the truth

  1. “Hope and courage are not my strong suit; perseverance (also known as stubbornness) is.”

    Love this. Best of luck to you!

  2. Meg

    You’ll be fine, Laura dear. I know Joey’s far away, but he’s still there for you. And if you need someone closer, there’s always me. I know I’m not very close, but I’m here if you need me. All you have to do is ask.

    But anyway, it was great to see you on Thursday and I hope to see you again next Thursday. And sorry I couldn’t go out with you on Friday. I can’t take the car into Atlanta and my mom needed the van. Maybe next time?

Leave a Reply

