Bill Bryson’s “I’m A Stranger Here Myself”

Y’all, I’m partway through Bill Bryson’s I’m A Stranger Here Myself, and I am here to tell you that it is comedic gold. Even my brother laughed out loud (LOLed, if you will) at its incredible wit. The book is a collection of columns that Bryson wrote after moving back to the US. He lived in the UK for 20 years. He offers such hilarious insights as:

I would hate for you to think that my loyalty with respect to postal delivery systems can be cheaply bought with a chocolate twirl doughnut and a Styrofoam cup of coffee, but in fact it can. Much as I admire Britain’s Royal Mail, it has never once offered me a morning snack, so I have to tell you that as I strolled home from my errand, wiping crumbs from my face, my thoughts toward American life in general and the U.S. Postal Service in particular were pretty incomparably favorable” (Bryson, 6).

I don’t know if you can really understand how awesome his humor is from such a short excerpt, but I’m trying not to violate copyright law here. One of the best features about the book is that its chapters are quite short, about four pages on average. I read a couple short, witty chapters before going to bed and still feel like I made time for pleasure reading during my day. I wholeheartedly recommend that you pick up a copy from your favorite bookseller. Even if you haven’t spent time living abroad, the book has plenty of hilarious stories that any American can relate to.  (Disclosure: I’m not getting paid to say this and Bill Bryson wouldn’t know me from a tree stump.) Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Shared stuff

2 responses to “Bill Bryson’s “I’m A Stranger Here Myself”

  1. I love his stuff…I have Notes from a Small Island and also Notes from a Big Country…both are hilarious (at least to me)…Notes from a Small Island is all about moving to the UK and Notes from a Big Country is about America…both are really good.

    • bronzedshoe

      Ha! I guess I’m a little late to the party. I definitely thought of you and your UK-US adventures when I first picked up the book.

Leave a Reply

