Seven Deadly Sins

This is incredible and hilarious – someone at Kansas State mapped the seven deadly sins across the United States. The map of pride (the root of all evil) is the aggregate of all the data. Maps for each sin and more details here:


Greed was calculated by comparing average incomes with the total number of inhabitants living beneath the poverty line. Envy was calculated using the total number of thefts – robbery, burglary, larceny and stolen cars. Wrath was calculated by comparing the total number of violent crimes – murder, assault and rape – reported to the FBI per capita. Lust was calculated by compiling the number of sexually transmitted diseases – HIV, AIDS, syphilis, chlamydia and gonorrhea – reported per capita. Gluttony was calculated by counting the number of fast food restaurants per capita. Sloth was calculated by comparing expenditures on arts, entertainment and recreation with the rate of employment. And pride, lastly, is most important. The root of all sins, in this study, is the aggregate of all data.


1 Comment

Filed under just for fun, Shared stuff

One response to “Seven Deadly Sins

  1. goldiefish

    Now that is clever – disheartening but still clever.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s