So long, farewell

This semester has been all about driving forward and making it through. In all of the rush to get it behind me, I almost forgot to savor this last week and a half on campus. I won’t be back until August. I won’t see my friends until then (or eat apple pizza at South Dining Hall!). I’m slowly saying my goodbyes and tying up loose ends. Tonight we’re throwing a Christmas party, and it might be the last time I see some of my friends until August, a whole eight months away.

I’m also trying to treasure this time with Joey. We face a gradual disengagement from each other’s lives- first we go home, where we won’t see each other every day, and then I leave to go to Greece, and we won’t see each other for four months. We have always felt that this next semester will be good for both of us since we came to college already together (we went to high school together and started dating November of senior year). Growing is good. Time apart is sometimes healthy. Our relationship is strong enough to last despite the distance. All of this I know. But a little voice in the back of my mind protests, Where will I get a my daily dose of hugs? Who will make me laugh? Who will stay up late studying with me?

We will cope, and all will be well. Still, I’m savoring these last few days of classes and finals, even in the midst of all the hustle and bustle, because I just love having him by my side.

Leave a comment

Filed under Greece, Notre Dame

Leave a Reply

